The Community Pool is for those of you looking for input, whether on post ideas, writing, blog design and layout, or anything else. If you have a post, page, or idea you want to bounce off someone, leave a comment. Your fellow bloggers can then click through and offer input either on your site, or in the comments here (feel free to indicate which you’d prefer).

Read on for the ground rules and to leave a comment . .

  • You’ll get the best feedback if you can be as specific as possible about what you’d like people to respond to or where you’re struggling.
  • Please keep all comments civil and constructive. We’re here to help and support one another, not to beat anyone down.
  • If you haven’t looked at our Commenting Guidelines in a while, now might be a good time.
  • To keep from losing your place in the comment thread while you visit others’ blogs, right-click on a link to open it in a new tab or window.
  • No running on the deck.

Photo by t_a_i_s.

Show Comments


Comments are closed.

Close Comments


  1. Hey everybody! :)

    Back around 2005 I had a Blogger account. At the time, I had just learned the word “blog.” Kind of like how I recently learned the words “selfie” and “twerk.”

    For over a month now I’ve committed to posting on my new WordPress site, The Offensive Playbook EVERY day. And I’ve been doing it. If you like satirical Onion-style writings, comics, amusing photos, and just about anything in that vein, I’m your guy.

    While I have no trouble with content, I am no web designer. Not by a long stretch. I’m a quick learner though. For instance, does anybody here know what a “widget” is? I do! Found out last week by clicking around my page’s options. (Yes, that’s how green I am.)

    Anyway, I believe my site is worthy of some superficial improvements, and if you’d like to help me out, I’d be ecstatic if you popped on by, read / looked at what I’ve created, and left a comment or two with some ideas. You’ll also find my email on my little Gravity Profile thing.


    Whups! Gravtar! I am SO stupid! Sounds like an old Atari game or something, doesn’t it? Heh heh.

    But seriously…help?

    All the best,


    The Offensive Playbook (OPB)


  2. I don’t know much about design so I would love to get some feedback on my blog. I like to keep things modern and simple for the most part.
    Also any comments on my writing style would be appreciated! I’m still deciding what kind of tone I want for my blog and what I want to write about.


  3. I am trying to extend my blog content by including posts about New York City events an attractions. This week I featured a post about why walking across the Brooklyn Bridge is awesome
    and another about a NYC event celebrating french cookies: “Macaron Day”

    I would love feedback on these posts– were they engaging? Even if you’re someone who doesn’t live in NYC? (I have readers from across the globe, I don’t want to exclude!) What could I improve? Do you think these posts are interesting?
    Thanks so much and if you’re looking for feedback too, I’ll try to return the favor!


  4. Hello! This is my first blog. Just looking for general thoughts about the content. Interesting? Boring? Helpful? Inspiring?Maybe topic suggestions? I typically write about my thoughts & lessons I’m learning in life & through my yoga practice. Thanks! :)


  5. Hi guys, I’ve done one of these before and got some great feedback so I thought I’d go again. I have a fairly new blog where I talk about my experience living with mental illness. I was wondering if I could get some feedback on my writing and I’m curious if those outside the mental illness community find my posts informative or interesting? Thanks so much :) I look forward to hearing back.


  6. Hello everybody in the Community Pool. It is the first time I’m using this so still not sure how does it work but I hope you can help me.

    I just would like to get feedback from my writing. And, if it’s possible, I’d also like to learn more ways on promoting my blog. I think my ideas are good I just need to get more readers.

    Thanks in advance,


    Liked by 1 person

  7. First month into blogging. I’ve started with two section idea. One for personal thoughts and experiences. The other for my commentary on recent news and events.

    I started using subjects to separate the two. Is there a better way to do that? I’ve created a page on the blog for them both.

    The other question I had was about sharing pictures / videos from the sites I grab stories about. Legally, can I use / link to a photo or video that is on CNN / Detroit news ect…?

    It looks like this is a good place to find ideas about what works for others. I can’t wait to hear what you have to say (good or bad.)


  8. For anyone who can help me I’d appreciate it. My daughter, who is 30-something and internet- experienced, helped me set up my blog. I have the BOOK LITE theme. I’m internet-challenged and still learning. I tried to add other sidebars to my post without success. What do I need to do? If that theme doesn’t support sidebars I’ll understand. Also, being internet-challenged, I don’t know how to get different smilies and the little red heart symbol. I accidently stumbled on :) but don’t have the slightest idea how to find the others. You can comment on my sight. I’m assuming I’ll get an email message that I have a comment. Thank you. I’ll appreciate any help you can give me. :)