Community Pool: NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo Edition

The Community Pool is for those of you looking for input, whether on post ideas, writing, blog design and layout, or anything else. If you have a post, page, or idea you want to bounce off someone, leave a comment. Your fellow bloggers can then click through and offer input either on your site, or in the comments here (feel free to indicate which you’d prefer).

Welcome to the Community Pool: NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo edition! As always, the thread is open for any questions, but we hope those of you participating in a NaMo event will find it a useful space to get feedback and encouragement. Read on for the ground rules and to leave a comment . . .

  • You’ll get the best feedback if you can be as specific as possible about what you’d like people to respond to or where you’re struggling.
  • Please keep all comments civil and constructive. We’re here to help and support one another, not to beat anyone down.
  • If you haven’t looked at our Commenting Guidelines in a while, now might be a good time.
  • To keep from losing your place in the comment thread while you visit others’ blogs, right-click on a link to open it in a new tab or window.
  • No running on the deck.


Participating in NaBloPoMo? Head to BlogHer’s NaBloMoPo Central for more prompts, inspiration, and motivation to help you post every day — in November and beyond!

(Not participating? Why not? Get posting!)

Photo by t_a_i_s.

Show Comments


Comments are closed.

Close Comments


  1. I’m really into political science and I was wondering how I could get people in my generation more aware of the issues happening and their rights. Also I have a hard time finding things to write about. Writing during the week is also hard with 7 classes


  2. Hello again, dear Community Pool

    I’m just starting to do the NaBloPoMo thing this month.
    I’ve had a bit of difficulty coming up with interesting posts on a daily basis in the past, so this might be quite interesting to see if I can keep up with it.

    Would totally appreciate it if somebody looked at some of my recent posts and let me know some of their thoughts. Also, once again, anything about the general layout and content and everything would be fantastic.

    Constructive feedback and criticism is always welcomed and appreciated!

    Thanks a lot :)



  3. No one has to approve of the “theories” of evolution, or (much more complicated) gravity. They believe in you. I do have a question, however. What does “NaBloPoMo” mean? Later…


  4. I’m going through a tough time in my personal and professional life, unfortunately it’s impossible to avoid this creeping into my blog. I’ve fallen off the consistent updating wagon, but my last post was Freshly Pressed (so awesome, and unexpected, let me tell you) and I’m hoping the momentum will get me back on the wagon.

    I want my posts to be entertaining, well written, and to keep your attention.
    I dread my writing becoming whiney, full of complaints and bitching.

    I’d love feed back that I am indeed achieving the former, not the latter with posts like this-

    Thank you! :)


  5. Technical help please. I want to post several articles in one post and want to use the ‘more’ tag. I’ve figured out how to do that after first paragraph but how do I then move on to next article immediately after ‘more’? At the moment I can only have article two appearing at the start of the ‘more’ section for article one. I’d really appreciate some help. Thank you.


  6. I’ve started NaBloPoMo, I decided to write to a theme as I was terrified of having to think of something to write every day, and the normal theme for my blog (my newly formed family) doesn’t give me enough to write about every day; for some reason the kids have stopped being outrageous. As I’ve had 35 jobs in my life so far, and each one has seemed memorable to me, I’m writing about one each day. I hope this is within the rules?! I’m really enjoying remembering all of the characters I met in each place I worked.


  7. I would love your opinion and insight, please. I am a sighted person, and my protagonist is blind. Do you think that’s bad form? Like, that my story will suffer or not be realistic because I”m writing from a privileged position? How can I do it with respect? I’m doing some research online about the daily life of people who are blind, and maybe little things they do to help themselves, and my protagonist is not a ninny. I just want to be respectful. Thoughts?


  8. Greetings! Am looking for feedback on my blog. I don’t focus on a specific topic, but instead just whatever comes to mind that day. I am working to improve my writing style and open myself up more as I struggle to finish my first book. I feel like my book just isn’t reaching the personal and emotional level that I want it to. I have always avoided critique and criticism on my writing and can’t improve without the opinions of others. Thank you so much for your help.