The Community Pool is for those of you looking for input, whether on post ideas, writing, blog design and layout, or anything else. If you have a post, page, or idea you want to bounce off someone, leave a comment. Your fellow bloggers can then click through and offer input either on your site, or in the comments here (feel free to indicate which you’d prefer).

Read on for the ground rules and to leave a comment . . .

  • You’ll get the best feedback if you can be as specific as possible about what you’d like people to respond to or where you’re struggling.
  • Please keep all comments civil and constructive. We’re here to help and support one another, not to beat anyone down.
  • If you haven’t looked at our Commenting Guidelines in a while, now might be a good time.
  • To keep from losing your place in the comment thread while you visit others’ blogs, right-click on a link to open it in a new tab or window.
  • No running on the deck.

Photo by t_a_i_s.

Show Comments


Comments are closed.

Close Comments


  1. I’d really just like some general feedback on my blog:

    Firstly, I feel I need to improve my “About Me,” but I’m not sure what sort of information is most interesting to readers. Secondly, I have a question about my content itself. My blog is mostly a writing development blog, so my question is this: what sort of things do you find most interesting about the writing process? I’d like to know what topics I should mention more.

    Thank you for your feedback! (PS: Tasteful, implicit nude in the banner image. Nothing’s visible.)


  2. I need some help getting photos laid out properly on my blog:

    Specifically, the most recent post:

    This has mainly turned into a photographic blog, so any ideas on layout would be appreciated, or any other feedback. I’m new to this. Somehow on an earlier post I got them to show up as a slideshow, and I have no clue how I did it. I’ve seen some blogs where certain photos are large and others are smaller next to them, kind of like a gallery collage.

    Thanks so much!


  3. Hi all, after I recently altered the overall design of my blog, I’d love to hear your opinions: Is navigation clear enough? Is the general idea of it evident? I am especially wondering about the Blog section: Is it appealing as it is? Do you have any suggestions? Thank you in advance!


  4. What a great idea to have this community. Well, I’ve had a blog for over 6 months but I still feel like a new blogger!

    Sometimes my posts get a good number of hits (whatever a good number is?! You guessed it I’m a stats-addict)! However, despite people looking at my content, not many leave a comment :( or even like a post. But when I post on facebook I get the likes. Is there a way to add a facebook like widget?

    This lack of interaction has knocked my confidence a few times because I’m not sure if it’s because of the content or people not being able to relate to the content (I write from a perspective of my experience being a black female solo traveller). Of course my blog isn’t just aimed at people like me!… I write for the blogging community and beyond!

    Please suggest ways and maybe widgets I can add to my blog to make it more encouraging to attract an audience that would be willing to interact.

    Thanks in advance for the support!


  5. I need help from people who have been successful in getting a good solid readership. I publicize my posts to Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. I am not very active in Twitter and barely have any followers, but I am much more active in both LinkedIn and Facebook. My blog is about translation, so I understand that a lot of my friends and family on Facebook might not be interested. I do have several colleagues on Facebook, but I guess that is not enough. I never get more than about thirty views and nobody ever leaves a comment, even when I attempt to open a discussion. I’m not sure what to do. I constantly think about things that I can do to make the blog more visually attractive, or think about topics that could make it more appealing. I don’t have many ideas for that, though. I feel like I have a lot to say, but feel demotivated to write because nobody’s going to read. I never get any feedback from anyone about my posts, except the occasional “you’re such a good writer”, but sometimes I wonder if that’s even true. I would like to have a better idea of what people want and how I could attract more readers. Thanks!
    My blog:


  6. I am enjoying the challenge of creating a blog I know it takes time to gain the respect of good followers. Please I need feedback on my content. I am a story teller and believe we all should find our passion and follow our bliss. Feed back on anything that you find needs some work. I would appreciate the comments


  7. Hi all,

    This is my first time on the community pool.

    I recently started my book reviewing blog, aimed specifically at books published in the current century.

    Please take a look at my welcome page and some of the reviews to find out more.

    It would be great to have some feedback to know if I’m doing it right, in terms of content, layout etc.

    And do some of you have tips about spreading the word of your blog?

    Any suggestions, criticism, likes, shares or followers would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks all,

    Nathan Sherratt


  8. What a wonderful idea this is!

    I have been working my tech site for awhile now trying to find a nice balance of appearance and navigation ease. Would love to grab a premium theme, but not currently in the budget but I still think it looks pretty nice.

    Please take a look and fire away with thoughts and suggestions!



  9. Yesterday I celebrated my one year of blogging and am wondering what you think a) went well and b) I could do better in the years to come.

    Feedback is much appreciated and I’ll be browsing the comments and helping others where I can.

    Thank you! My blog is Opinionated Duck!

    Happy blogging!


  10. I am interested in any suggestions/advice you might have for my Orff Chapter’s website This is a website for music educators who use the Orff Process of teaching. Since I am new to doing this, I am open to any and all thoughts and suggestions.


  11. I’m (finally) going to overhaul my blog layout and design. I’m looking for some input about where to start. As a perfectionist I can think of dozens of problem issues, but with limited time/energy I don’t know where to start. What would make my blog more attractive/readable/easy to navigate. I’m an eclectic blogger and I tend to cover a lot of topics.

    I’d totally appreciate a few objective opinions (family and friends HAVE to be nice to me, right?).


  12. Hi all,

    I run a tech blog Jordan’s Tech Stop, and I really enjoy doing this! I have been doing this since May 2011, and have now started to get more views! I even do this with a group of my friends now! I would really appreciate it if you could give me some advice, follow my blog, and follow me on my socials networks!

    Here’s the link:



  13. SNAPn:I have not read the below comments. But, I Will…
    I want a bit of feed back on my earlier post good or bad.. I have no idea if Anyone is even eyeing them, let alone reading or understanding them.. Thank you,S.


  14. My problem is that I kept on answering all the daily post questions on my blog page. I have tried to answer on the same page like others but all the posts have all ended up in my blog page. How can I connect directly to the questions, instead of reblogging every one of them on my blog. Very concern Thanks nakanno1.word press .com