Menu

Community Pool: Design

The Community Pool is for those of you looking for input, whether on post ideas, writing, blog design and layout,…

The Community Pool is for those of you looking for input, whether on post ideas, writing, blog design and layout, or anything else. If you have a post, page, or idea you want to bounce off someone, leave a comment. Your fellow bloggers can then click through and offer input either on your site, or in the comments here (feel free to indicate which you’d prefer).

This week, we’ll try a focused Community Pool: bring questions about your theme, layout, or design. It’s all up for grabs — widget placement, custom backgrounds, font choices, you name it.

Read on for the ground rules and to leave a comment . . .

  • You’ll get the best feedback if you can be as specific as possible about what you’d like people to respond to or where you’re struggling.
  • Please keep all comments civil and constructive. We’re here to help and support one another, not to beat anyone down.
  • If you haven’t looked at our Commenting Guidelines in a while, now might be a good time.
  • To keep from losing your place in the comment thread, right-click on a link to open it in a new tab or window.
  • No running on the deck.

Photo by t_a_i_s.

396 Comments

  1. Hey guys – would love some feedback on my photography blog – http://lensaddiction.wordpress.com/

    I use Twenty Ten, have played with a few other themes but I like a fairly simple clean design, capablity for a few useful widgets. Some of the photography specific themes I have found frustrating because you cannot change the text or background colours and so they are difficult to read. Also using Featured Images means they get cropped oddly and don’t look at all nice.

    Should I add some more pages relevant to discussion ie Technical Tips, Reviews etc (i find the whole page thing rather confusing)

    All feedback welcomed!

    1. Hi Joy, in a photography blog I would try to give the pictures as much space as possible. Within your theme, I’d try to go for “full size”, using all the horizontal space there is.
      In my eyes the header – which I think comes with the theme – is a bit distractung (for me, it does not shout out “Hey, I am a photo blog!”). But that might just be me.
      Over all, you’re doing good though!

      1. I am not sure what’s possible within your theme. Can you feature one of your own pictures in the header? (The dashboard should have the option under “Appearance”/”Header”.) How would that look?

    2. I was given some advice on my blog to search under themes for “magazine” due to the content of my writing. The same could be said for yours. WordPress has some great themes for photography that will place your visuals front and center. I’d recommend doing a search.

  2. Hi again everyone! I’ve already gotten some help from Tara R. but I was wondering if I could have some feedback on my blog. Is there anything I can change to make it look better? Thanks!

    1. Hi, your blog looks fine to me. You could spruce it up with a couple of pictures if you like (and if you do not find pictures too distracting). Pictures can sort of guide your readers’ eyes and grab attention. Other than that, I think it is always a good idea to ask myself what the widgets can do for me: What do I need them for? I do not really understand the function of the calendar for instance. But that is just my taste … it may make more sense to other readers. Keep up the work! Cheers!

  3. After discussing design here, I thought I’d give it a try and reorganize my blog. The new design is up and running – and I’d be happy to learn if it is appealing.

    1. Hi Janaline, as far as I can see, your theme is fine. Since your focus seems to be on pictures rather than text, I wonder if there would be a way of giving the photographs a bis more space. Can you get rid of one of the widget areas on the sides? I would try that – but that’s just my 2 cents.

      1. Tried getting rid of one side of widgets but it didnt give the photos more space, it just left a big empty space so went back to them…will maybe have to look at a different theme, thanks

    2. This is a theme that is meant for writing more than photos. As your blog is focused on the photography, with the words merely cataloging the photos, I think you should switch to a photography layout.

  4. Hi bloggers, I am very green in the world of WordPress and although I don’t have a question about design at this time, I do have a question about copyright pictures. I am wondering if the pictures I have placed in my blog are legal? I have cited sources of where the content is coming from and I think I have done linking properly. I do believe in giving credit where credit is due so what to make sure everything is on the up and up.

    I did search the Community Pool to place this question in the appropriate topic other than Design, but comments had been closed on most topics,from what I could see., If I have posted my question in error, my mistake and I’ll search better next time. .

    Here is the blog in question http://niftybitsblog.wordpress.com and Thanks for listening.

    1. I think that including more detailed credits with the picture is good. For example, for the picture on your blog from Alice in Wonderland, you could have also said the movie title and the company (Disney). I`ll admit I have that problem too, but I was thinking that it is something most of us need to up the game on.

      1. No problem! How do you feel about my blog`s layout? I`m not sure that it is quite the style I want. I like that it is cute, but my posts are all more magazine themed, so I think it may work better. What do you think?

  5. I write a variety blog at http://thegreatzambini.wordpress.com/ and readership has really gone down in the last week or two. I`m not sure if it is the post`s subject matter, or the fact that the blog setup is a little awkward. I have some category menus that divide my posts into newspaper categories (the arts, editorials, etc) and I was thinking putting them into separate tabs at the top of the page as different pages would work better, but I`m not sure how to do that so that each new post that fits the category gets moved there. My posts have moved focus in the last month or so from a lot of diy type information to more article type posts, and I wasn`t sure if that is what is to blame for the problem.

Comments are closed.