Introducing: The Community Pool

One of the things we’ve been excited to see develop here at The Daily Post is your engagement with one another in the comments — offering feedback, ideas, and support. We thought it would be valuable to carve out a space here for those of you looking for input on your work, so today we’re introducing the Community Pool.

Community PoolIf y’all are interested, here’s what we’ll do: once a week (probably on weekends), we’ll put up an open Community Pool post. If you have a post, page, or idea you want to bounce off someone, leave a comment. Your fellow bloggers can then click through and offer input either on your site, or in the comments here (feel free to indicate which you’d prefer).

We’re hoping the Community Pool will be a way for you to both get the feedback you’re looking for and get introduced to new blogs you might not have stumbled across. That being said, this is not an open call to post a link to your blog asking us to come read, it’s a space for back-and-forth between bloggers who want to improve what they publish.

A few reminders before we get started:

  • You’ll get the best feedback if you can be as specific as possible about what you’d like people to respond to or where you’re struggling.
  • Please keep all comments civil and constructive. We’re here to help and support one another, not to beat anyone down.
  • If you haven’t looked at our Commenting Guidelines in a while, now might be a good time.
  • No running on the deck.

With that, welcome to the first Community Pool! Come on in; the water’s fine.

Photo by t_a_i_s.

Show Comments


Comments are closed.

Close Comments


  1. I think this a great way to get more people to find similar bloggers or even get out of their comfort zones when it comes to writing. I personally need more help in writing fiction or anything that’s not dark and sad. :D


  2. This sounds a brilliant idea! The blogging buddy idea when you first started postaday really made us all reach out to other bloggers around the world.

    I am currently writing a novel which could be filed in travel and romance. It is a far cry from my blog and I wonder if I should create another blog dedicated just to writing?


  3. OK. I would love people to come by and look at my blog. I post daily, journaling feelings, recounting conversations, saying what I think.

    I would like comments on the illustrations. How do you think they fit to the subject matter? I would like comments there on posts where you think they fit particularly well, and why, and where you see room for improvement.


  4. great idea, still a bit shy for comments, but have a group that does encourage me. Glad to know this exists, and when I get bold enough to even let my group of friends know I have a blog I may join in, for now I remain anonymous… ;) Thanks for being here and offering support and encouragement and ideas. I look forward to reading your posts daily. DAF


  5. I think this is an excellent idea! It will not only help the visibility of our blogs, but it will also be a great place for us bloggers to learn from each other.


  6. I think i like this, but i am a “Show me” type of guy. I can glean more b y looking and touching or using than reading. i will eagerly await it in its trial form.


  7. Well, my blog is here:

    I guess what I’m wondering is whether it’s interesting. I know that’s sort of vague, but it’s basically a development blog for my writing, and I’m wondering whether the stuff I write about is the sort of thing people would find interesting if they’re interested in the writer.