Menu

Community Pool

The Community Pool is for those of you looking for input, whether on post ideas, writing, blog design and layout,…

The Community Pool is for those of you looking for input, whether on post ideas, writing, blog design and layout, or anything else. If you have a post, page, or idea you want to bounce off someone, leave a comment. Your fellow bloggers can then click through and offer input either on your site, or in the comments here (feel free to indicate which you’d prefer).

Read on for the ground rules and to leave a comment . . .

  • You’ll get the best feedback if you can be as specific as possible about what you’d like people to respond to or where you’re struggling.
  • Please keep all comments civil and constructive. We’re here to help and support one another, not to beat anyone down.
  • If you haven’t looked at our Commenting Guidelines in a while, now might be a good time.
  • To keep from losing your place in the comment thread while you visit others’ blogs, right-click on a link to open it in a new tab or window.
  • No diving in the shallow end.

Photo by t_a_i_s.

129 Comments

  1. Hi all,
    All of a sudden my posts have stopped appearing on the Facebook page I have linked to my blog, even though it still say it’s being “publicized” and I get a lot of readership through FB. Just wondering if anybody else is experiencing this as of late? And if anybody has a solution please let me know…

    Thanks,
    Gord

    1. This happened to me too! I unlinked my blog from Facebook and then relinked it and it started working again. I’d give this a go and hopefully it will fix the problem for you too.

    1. Can I make a suggestion? Be careful with mirco-blogging because sometimes things don’t look right when bloggers make a lot of different small posts.

  2. I have been fooling around with the blog to try to find another blog template that may help readers to, well, read. I realize that Sight font is very tiny but I can’t get away from this blog template because I like the way everything is set up.

    I think thirty dollars is a lot for customization each year. If I could just purchase the font customization I would, but until that time, I am kind of stuck with the old regular WP blog and the really small font. Any suggestions?

    1. I think $30 is a lot for customization too, especially since it really doesn’t give you too many options. What I settled with instead is a premium theme. It cost me $68, but it’s mine forever without any yearly fees. This felt costly at the time but it has been so great. I had so many issues with organization and color schemes and what not before. I would suggest, not limiting yourself and going through all the themes paid or not to really discover the look you want. Try typing in keywords that relate to your blog when searching for a theme.

      I like your blog and the size of the text doesn’t bother me, it’s just the amount of text is a bit much all at once- with the blogs, the sidebar and the header. I’m not sure that you need th quote and copyright information. When you create something the copyright is yours automatically. You can still register with the Copyright office do get additional copyright benefits but it’s not necessary. If someone steals your work and you become aware of it whether you have that information on your site or not you can send a cease and decist.

      Sorry, long winded, but my point is, cut out the unnecessary busyness and only keep what truely adds to your blog and the experience of reading it.

      1. I was thinking the same thing with the sidebar and header but part of me likes to have everything be level (if that makes sense). I wanted to add pictures that linked to other things. I like getting good criticism. Thanks.

  3. Another question from me! When I read other blogs, I see at the bottom a like button as well as share buttons. When I look at my own blog….I do not see those at the bottom….instead there is a “leave a reply” button at the beginning of the post (just under the title). How can I change that so it shows up at the bottom of the post. I don’t think anyone wants to bother scrolling back up to like or share so I’m wondering if something is set up wrong on my blog? Any help would be appreciated! My blog is

    http://insidespacedesign.wordpress.com

    1. Hi..I just looked at your blog and checked a couple of random posts…Your like button shows up in the header bar and after the text of the posts..I’m guessing you found the solution to your question :~)

  4. I have a blog and I get some likes. What makes my blog freshly commentable? it has the flavor but maybe some ingredients are off? I would like to get some comments. So if you guys would view memarustan.wordpress.com and give me some tips. I’d really appreciate it.
    Thnxx in advance

Comments are closed.